Digital Microscopes

and any other non-chem subjects.
fibreweb
School: Oxley High School
Suburb: Tamworth
State/Location: NSW

Digital Microscopes

Post by fibreweb »

This morning our head teacher told me the P & C had asked for a wish list from each faculty for concideration to purchase.

One suggestions from the teachers was for more Senior Microscopes ( we have about 16 of these already), whilst other suggested a Digital Microscope/microscopes as they are supposed to be incorperating technology into there lessons more.

I have no experience in Digital Microscopes, or even exactly how they would propose to use them. As the lab assistant I would see it's benefit in its being able to show on an Interactive White Board ( we're supposed to be getting one of them in each faculty sometime) a slide so they know the kids are seeing what they want them to.

From Googling I have discovered there are small hand held thingies and normal looking microscopes that have facilities to connect to a laptop.

Does anyone have any experience with Digital microscopes and could offer any suggestions or advice. From previous experience with the P & C wishing for something over a $1,000 is not a problem

I had thought maybe of a digital camera that can fit over the eyepiece of an existing microscope and that image can then be shown on a computer screen/smart board or with a data projector.

Any thought or suggestions?

Wendy
nickyw
State/Location: QLD

Re: Digital Microscopes

Post by nickyw »

Go to http://www.ausinst.com.au. They have all types of gadgets that you can use on your existing microscopes in order to get a digital image onto you computer. Or alternatively you can buy a digital microscope like we did 2 weeks ago for around $400.00 for a junior one. I rang Australian Instrument Services - 02 9543 5518 and told them what I was after and they were really helpful. Worth a try.

Hope that helps. :thumbup:
Jen1
School: Halls Head Community College
State/Location: WA