School culture concerning food.

MSDSs, Storage, Handling, Transport, Labeling, computer management systems, and anything else to do with safety.
MrsCooper
Job Title: Science Lab Technician
School: Generic High
State/Location: NSW

School culture concerning food.

Post by MrsCooper »

Hey fellow labbies!
I'm fairly new in these parts and I'm still feeling my way around the job and I'm looking for some help.

What is the deal with food in science pracs?? Is it edible or not?
I imagine (based on what RiskAssess says) that students shouldn't eat any lollies or stuff like that, because of contamination, but the culture at my school is that kids can and are allowed to eat any food used in pracs. This sentiment is shared by my Head of Department.

So these three questions plague me:
What does WHS say and where do I actually find that information?
Would I be in the wrong to let it continue to happen?
What do you guys do?

Jackie.
Labbie
Job Title: Retired
Suburb: At Home

Re: School culture concerning food.

Post by Labbie »

The CSIS tells us no food or drink in a Science class AT ALL. Chemicals stay in the air for years and years so we are told. Hence we are told to wear lab coats & PPE for the reason. SO no NO. Student can go to the door and open it, for a drink from there water bottles.
Regards Labbie

Lab Manager/Lab Tech, mind reading etc etc
Now retired :wub:
Merilyn1
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollondilly Anglican College
Suburb: Tahmoor

Post by Merilyn1 »

For those of us not following CSIS, the pure WHS thing to do is a risk assessment. Outside of CSIS, there is no clear directions about this. There is argument that it is a classroom and not a lab.