Physics equipment from scratch.

This forum is for (a) to help other members source materials, and (b) for topics regarding equipment repairs.
linotas
State/Location: TAS

Physics equipment from scratch.

Post by linotas »

I know this is a BIG question, but can anyone from a yr7-10 perspective, tell me what they think is the absolute minimum basic physics equipment needed?

We basically have no physics equipment at all and I need to get orders in for next year (well wish list) taking into account a tight budget and the fact that the only physics trained teachers will be new next year and both first year out!!

I really really need help :w00t:
Narelle01
State/Location: NSW

Re: Physics equipment from scratch.

Post by Narelle01 »

i am no physics expert, but what i suggest is to have a look at the program or register for the physics topics for the jnr years and work it out from there.
Some things that always go out that I have noticed are:
stopwatches
masses and mass carriers
blocks of wood with hooks screwed in the end
boards of wood
metre rulers
string

I hope this helps!
merilyn

Post by merilyn »

Physics isn't my strong point, so I can't help out in detail but this year instead of replacing ammeters, voltmeters etc, the physics teacher was happy with us buying multimeters for use in the junior classes. They were much cheaper, only $10 each, and are more durable. We've kept the other meters for the senior classes only. Try and get your current teachers to look at the cirriculum to work out the equipment you will need.
merilyn

Post by merilyn »

Narelle - we have something in common "physics isn't my strong point" and "I'm no physics expert". I was typing my reply as you were posting yours, so honest I didn't copy!
matchstick
Job Title: School Admin.Assistant
School: Strathfield South Public School
Suburb: Strathfield

Post by matchstick »