Stocktake programs

MSDSs, Storage, Handling, Transport, Labeling, computer management systems, and anything else to do with safety.
Post Reply
agregory
Posts: 54
Joined: 01 Nov 2010, 13:19
Job Title: Lab Assistant
Suburb: Townsville
State/Location: QLD

Stocktake programs

Post by agregory »

Hi everyone

What do you all use for stocktake programs?

I have Omega Scientific's Laboratory Stock Controller program - it's quite old now.
I've tried Quartzy but it doesn't do all that Stock Controller does (historical purchase dates/prices etc).

I'd rather not use spreadsheets etc. Any other programs you use?

Annette
Marama T
Posts: 134
Joined: 01 Aug 2017, 12:19
Job Title: Laboratory technician
School: College
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by Marama T »

I used Chemwatch FFX Gold in other schools, but just use Excel now.
User avatar
macca
Posts: 906
Joined: 10 Dec 2008, 08:38
Job Title: Mind Reader
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by macca »

same Excel, use information from Riskassess program; DG class, PK group, UN, CAS and user codes
User avatar
Anna Z
Posts: 119
Joined: 16 Feb 2021, 14:39
Job Title: Lab Manager
School: DET Secondary School
State/Location: VIC

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by Anna Z »

macca wrote: 14 Jun 2022, 13:10 same Excel, use information from Riskassess program; DG class, PK group, UN, CAS and user codes
same
labbassistant
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Aug 2021, 09:33
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollongong High School
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by labbassistant »

Hi all this might be a silly question, but I'm trying to see if ChemWatch is easier to use than excel for the stocktake, and I'm entering in the quantity of methylated spirits we have (current volume) and its is asking for the maximum volume. Does this mean the max we are allowed to keep onsite?
If this is the case, where do I find that information for each chemical? I've looked in CSIS and I can't find anything on this.
Thanks!
agregory
Posts: 54
Joined: 01 Nov 2010, 13:19
Job Title: Lab Assistant
Suburb: Townsville
State/Location: QLD

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by agregory »

I wanted a Stocktake program for everything in the lab - beakers, flasks etc as well as chemicals, so Chemwatch won't work for that
ottenc
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Mar 2022, 09:42
Job Title: Laboratory Technician
School: Leighland Christian School
State/Location: TAS

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by ottenc »

labbassistant wrote: 24 Jun 2022, 09:22 Hi all this might be a silly question, but I'm trying to see if ChemWatch is easier to use than excel for the stocktake, and I'm entering in the quantity of methylated spirits we have (current volume) and its is asking for the maximum volume. Does this mean the max we are allowed to keep onsite?
If this is the case, where do I find that information for each chemical? I've looked in CSIS and I can't find anything on this.
Thanks!
I treat this as the maximum you will usually have. If you usually have 2 bottles of spirits in your chem store, how many mL or L will that be? If you usually have 2 500mL bottles, regardless of how full they are, I'd put the maximum at 1L
User avatar
Anna Z
Posts: 119
Joined: 16 Feb 2021, 14:39
Job Title: Lab Manager
School: DET Secondary School
State/Location: VIC

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by Anna Z »

It's the max you will ever store. I have mine set at 2L
Merilyn1
Posts: 1257
Joined: 12 Mar 2013, 08:10
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollondilly Anglican College
Suburb: Tahmoor
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by Merilyn1 »

labbassistant wrote: 24 Jun 2022, 09:22 Hi all this might be a silly question, but I'm trying to see if ChemWatch is easier to use than excel for the stocktake, and I'm entering in the quantity of methylated spirits we have (current volume) and its is asking for the maximum volume. Does this mean the max we are allowed to keep onsite?
If this is the case, where do I find that information for each chemical? I've looked in CSIS and I can't find anything on this.
Thanks!
Yep, common practice to show the maximum quantity you will ever have. For example, if I buy sodium hydroxide in a 500g container and only ever have one, then the quantity is 500g whether the container is full or not.

Keep in mind, there is no legal requirement (in NSW) to show the quantities of your chemicals on your register. Good to have this information but not mandated. You would need to include this on a manifest but most of us will never come close to needing this. The quantities for a manifest can be found in the WHS Regulations.
Merilyn1
Posts: 1257
Joined: 12 Mar 2013, 08:10
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollondilly Anglican College
Suburb: Tahmoor
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by Merilyn1 »

agregory wrote: 24 Jun 2022, 09:31 I wanted a Stocktake program for everything in the lab - beakers, flasks etc as well as chemicals, so Chemwatch won't work for that
Don't know of anything. Spreadsheet is usually the easiest. If you were super good on data bases you could try that.
I use a spreadsheet.
labbassistant
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Aug 2021, 09:33
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollongong High School
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by labbassistant »

Hi all,

I'm thinking of switching to chemwatch for our stocktake, and I've spoken to another labbie about this, but does anyone know if you're meant to run a report after all information has been entered? Or is it just when all quantities have been entered that is complete, and you can then print each storage location and have a hard copy?
I know when I do the excel program from CSIS, that there is a report to run which generates a list on total quantities for each DG class.
Is this something that Chemwatch does also or not?
Hope this makes sense..
Thank you
ottenc
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Mar 2022, 09:42
Job Title: Laboratory Technician
School: Leighland Christian School
State/Location: TAS

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by ottenc »

I've been playing with Chemwatch attempting to run a report that would give this to you. I have found a dashboard that gives this data when set up correctly. Does this look like what you'd want?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
labbassistant
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Aug 2021, 09:33
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollongong High School
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by labbassistant »

YES! Can you please tell me how you did that? Thanks so much!
ottenc
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Mar 2022, 09:42
Job Title: Laboratory Technician
School: Leighland Christian School
State/Location: TAS

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by ottenc »

On the main page (when you first open) there is a button for 'dashboard' that has a picture of a pie chart. Go there and then 'add widgets' for the data you would like to see
labbassistant
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Aug 2021, 09:33
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollongong High School
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by labbassistant »

Awesome thanks so much, I added them.
I see in the top right corner there is a report button, is this something you (or anyone) uses to generate a report or would you just print the widgets page?
ottenc
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Mar 2022, 09:42
Job Title: Laboratory Technician
School: Leighland Christian School
State/Location: TAS

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by ottenc »

There are a number of different report types on there, and they could be useful I suppose depending on what you're doing. But other than a copy of my manifest (material, volume, dg, location), I can honestly say I don't use anything like that. But then I've only been in the job for a few months, so I'm hardly an expert!
labbassistant
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Aug 2021, 09:33
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollongong High School
State/Location: NSW

Re: Stocktake programs

Post by labbassistant »

No worries, that has definitely helped me. Thanks again
Post Reply