Risk Assess: Victorian Labbies

MSDSs, Storage, Handling, Transport, Labeling, computer management systems, and anything else to do with safety.
amandag
State/Location: VIC

Risk Assess: Victorian Labbies

Post by amandag »

Hello,
This is a question for Victorian laboratory Technician, who uses Risk Assess by Dr Philip Crisp. I will be implenting this in Term 2, but a certain person (no name to be mentioned as I was threatened with being sued.) said it was not legal in Victoria, it did not meet Victoria OHS, neither did books that publish risk assessments...but the LTAV data base does meet regulation. :cheesy: Rang worksafe..checked this out...no problems with riskassess or books...

how many other schools are using Risk assess ?
rell

Re: Risk Assess: Victorian Labbies

Post by rell »

Hi they certainly used a heavy hand. I have been using riskassess for 12 months. Fantastic program. Also we have had a ohs audit and there were no problems
Rell
vic labbie
lorelirag

Post by lorelirag »

Hi Amanda

Our school has been using this system for about 18 months now and the majority of teachers are very good about using it to request pracs as well as provide the risk assessment. This was something my predecessor found very hard to get the teachers to do consistently. I think the teachers have warmed to this system because it is all there 'at their finger tips'. :clap3:

cheers,
Lorna
Voice

Post by Voice »

I do believe that Risk Assess is acceptable in all Victorian schools.
However, it is not acceptable to me. Why? Because it does not tell you what to do if a risk becomes a reality. e.g. What if a student tastes potassium chloride, what does the teacher do regarding first aid?

This is a fault of the program. Some things just need to be treated before the student goes to the first aid rooms.
Maree
aedwards
Job Title: Laboratory technician
School: Korowa AGS
Suburb: Glen Iris

Post by aedwards »