Standard stock soultions

A general discussion and Q & A forum.
Rowyrow
State/Location: NT

Standard stock soultions

Post by Rowyrow »

HI all,
I have finally had my chemcal storage containers delivered :mail: :clap3: so now I can start filling my chem store with standard solutions :thumbup: so I was just wondering what concentraitions everyone keeps stocks of for say HCL, H2SO4, NaOH or even what pre made stocks you keep?
Cheers
(reminder that im new to school work and the school im at is new to)
macca
Job Title: Mind Reader
State/Location: NSW

Re: Standard stock soultions

Post by macca »

Hi, I try to keep 2.0M - 1.0M - 0.1M then if I'm out of 0.1M I can quickly make from 1.0M and so on. Hope that helps. Have a good weekend. \:D/
dime

Post by dime »

HCl, H2SO4, HNO3, & NaOH - 0.1, ,1,2, (have a fair bit made up 2L plus some 500ml and 250ml containers of each.) 0.5m (a couple of 500ml ) and 4 & 6m - 250ml. I don't have as much HNO3 made up as we don't seem to use as much of this, but still have the variety.

It has all been governed by demand over the years. But with the basic made up, you can dilute to make up what you need in a hurry. Remember to be careful with H2SO4 as it gets hot and takes a while to cool. Have fun!
Rowyrow

Post by Rowyrow »

Thanks for that ,now i have something to do next week! :thumbup: have a great weekend! :party: :drunk:
vlclabbie
Job Title: Lab Chick
Suburb: Albury

Post by vlclabbie »

Hi Rowan, I'm sure I'm probably making more work for myself but because we have small classes I just start from scratch each time. Although I have some 'leftovers' but generally 0.1M of NaOH & HCl.
sunray18

Post by sunray18 »

As well as 2L of 1M and 0.1M of the acids and NaOH, I have a small container of 4M of HCl. and H2SO4 .. for emergencys when a teacher suddenly asks for 4L of 1M or such...
fibreweb
School: Oxley High School
Suburb: Tamworth

Post by fibreweb »