Agar Plates

Request or contribute your recipes here. You can also try doing a search, as there are some old recipe posts which have not or cannot be moved over to this forum.
CC
Job Title: Labbie
School: Goulburn High School
Suburb: Goulburn
State/Location: NSW

Agar Plates

Post by CC »

I all

I was asked to make up some agar plates on Monday and I was really excited because my "The Laboratory" had arrived. I have no background in Science so this book is a revelation.
Anyway I followed the instructions in the book and it turned out beautifully. I was so proud I showed the staff who asked why it was clear, apparently was supposed to put vegemite and stock cubes in. So I tried to make it to the recipe in the book, but the teachers said don't worry about that and now it won't set. I want to learn to do things the right way so if someone could explain to me why we put acid and bases in and why the PH has to be at a certain level and HOW to test the PH that would be great.

Sorry if it sounds like I'm winging but I am because I like things to work the first time. :cry2: :cry2:
Labbie
Job Title: Retired
Suburb: At Home

Re: Agar Plates

Post by Labbie »

Hi Welcome to chemtalk, Their is so much information on Agar plates, I even changed the recipe, I had used for years, and now I use a microwave. So please do a search the posting of Agar Plates. I feel sure you will find what you need.
Regards Labbie

Lab Manager/Lab Tech, mind reading etc etc
Now retired :wub:
lada

Post by lada »

Hi Pommy, can you tell me how you make plates in microwave? How long and how much agar at one time/
lada
CC

Post by CC »

Hi Sue

Thanks for replying feeling better now and I'm ready to try again. I did a search as you suggested and was pleased with the advice and suggestions. I think the problem was the teachers wanting them in a hurry and told me to cut corners, but now that they didn't work I have all the time in the world to make them as they are in the recipe!!!

Thanks Cindy