Any benefits to making a Manifest in Chemwatch

MSDSs, Storage, Handling, Transport, Labeling, computer management systems, and anything else to do with safety.
kurra
State/Location: NSW

Any benefits to making a Manifest in Chemwatch

Post by kurra »

Hi All,

I have been using Chemwatch for 9 years and we have just been given access to the new Chemwatch gold FFX. I have been doing my register in an Excel spread sheet as this was the system in place when I first started my job. My question is if there is any benefit of adding our Chemicals to a manifest in Chemwatch, or will this be wasted effort if the system in place is working?

I have worked out how to make a manifest in the new system which for some reason I was unable to do in Chemwatch gold. I generally only use Chemwatch to print M(SDS) or labels.

Also, in viewing the online instructions on setting up the new systems, it states to use local settings, not GHS. I was wondering if I should start labelling with GHS settings now?,

regards Kim
J
Job Title: Lab Assistant
School: DHS

Re: Any benefits to making a Manifest in Chemwatch

Post by J »

Hi, Kim
I've been using a spreadsheet for years for my register. I'm happy with it. I'm sure the Chemwatch manifest has its advantages once it is set up but I have never taken the time to do so, and unless I am directed to, I doubt that I will.
When I make a new label I make a GHS one, so slowly making the transition from the old ones. :coffee:
Merilyn1
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollondilly Anglican College
Suburb: Tahmoor

Post by Merilyn1 »

Hi Kim

The benefits of using Chemwatch for your manifest is that it allows easy off site access to your chemical list. This is especially important in the event of a fire where the local brigade would need to know what chemicals are being stored.