Autoclave

and any other non-chem subjects.
lfn
State/Location: NSW

Autoclave

Post by lfn »

I want to buy Autoclave for our school for sterilizing agar plate. Could you please help me which one is better? or any other suggestion..
Thanks
rae
School: Oxley College
Suburb: Burradoo

Re: Autoclave

Post by rae »

Just buy a domestic pressure cooker. I'm sure they will be cheaper. They are easy to use and do the job effectively. I have been using one here for the 10yrs I have worked here.
lfn

Post by lfn »

Hi Rae,
Could you please tell me what size of pressure cooker would be better and also non-electric or electric ? Which brand do you use ?
Sorry I asked many questions #-o because this is my first time I need someone's advice.
Thanks
rae

Post by rae »

I can only tell you what I have. Its non-electric so I use it over a hot plate as for size I guess it would depend on how many plates you are trying to sterilise at I time. I can do 40 in a large oven bag. It holds about 8 litres.
lfn

Post by lfn »

Thank you so much rae :thumbup:
Merilyn1
Job Title: Labbie
School: Wollondilly Anglican College
Suburb: Tahmoor

Post by Merilyn1 »

I have a autoclave that, I think came from Haines, not sure how old it is. The brand is "All American" and is 15 L, holds 4 x 500mL Schott bottles. It requires a hot plate, but I just use a single domestic, plug in hotplate that works fine. My predecessor previously had a pressure cooker that needed a new rubber seal nearly every time it was used. I think she got so sick of it that she upgraded.

Before you use either an autoclave, or a pressure cooker, make sure you get some one to show you how to use it. You can get some very nasty burns from the steam. I always put a safety shield around mine when it is in use.
lfn

Post by lfn »

Many thanks Merilyn1,it was really helpful .I think I found it on Haines website.
astagni
Job Title: Lab Tech

Post by astagni »