trish armstrong
Job Title: lab Assistant SAO
School: Taree High School
Suburb: Taree
State/Location: NSW

Glassware in labs?

Post by trish armstrong »

Hello all,
I'm new to Chemtalk and have only been a labby for 18months, so still learning alot.
My question is what are your views on having glassware in the labs? I have six working labs(+ 1 ag lab) and every lab has test tubes, beakers,conical flasks, gas jars, evap basins, watchglass and crucibles. I have a class set of each size in each lab.
In other schools I visit some have a little glassware, some have none. My teachers like glassware in there lab, but dont keep track on broken or dirty glassware.
Every day I have to go through these drawers and count, take out dirty glassware for washing and replace drawer liners then refill to specific number for the new day. My worry is that I also find a lot of broken chipped glassware in the drawers,what if a student reaches in and cuts themselves. This practice also takes me one hour every morning,but the other side is that I don't have to prepare glassware for each jobsheet. I have been keeping tabs on the replacement cost for my glassware and it works out to be between $100-$200 a month. Excessive?
This practice was in place before I arrived and for the purpose of time management /cost of replacement, I want other opinions of is it better to have it in the labs or in the preproom for teachers to order?
Slartibartfast
State/Location: QLD

Re: Glassware in labs?

Post by Slartibartfast »

We keep no equipment in the labs apart from bunsens, retort stands, tripods and gauze. All other equipment is kept in my 2 prep rooms and storerooms. It's too time consuming for me to keep all labs stocked. All drawers and cupboards are locked in labs.